Hillbilly “Bubba” Ghanouj

Growing up in a Lebanese household where lamb, beef, and chicken were the meats of choice you rarely ran into pork being used extensively if at all even when it was not a religious issue. My eating of pork was usually limited to bacon or sausage when we had American breakfast or when we went out, but for the main course at dinner I have few porcine memories.

 

I have since become a huge pork fan! (I’m not huge mind you but my fondness of pork is. Oh sure I could lose a few pounds…)

 

One of my favorite pork products is crispy chicharone, fried pork rinds if you will. Salty, slightly smoky, crunchy and full bodied in flavor- this is like the ultimate meat lovers snack food. And if you are on a low carb diet- it’s HEALTH FOOD! Eat fried pork skin and lose weight? Man, that’s straight out of the National Enquirer ain’t it? It works! (I’m not a doctor nor do I play one on T.V.)

 

You know what else works? Adding 1 ounce of fried pork skins (yep, right out’ the bag) into your food processor with the roasted eggplant, tahini, lemon, garlic, and olive oil. This is the Dukes of Hazard meets Ali Baba- where Baba Ghanouj is transformed into “Bubba” Ghanouj, but let me tell you, WOW is it good!

 

pork_rind

 

bubba_food-processor

 

bubba_ghanouj

 

I served it under a butter basted free range chicken breast with home made wild boar ham and pan roasted mushrooms. I leapt from the table and did a jig it was so good!

 

 

 

rocky_ghanouj

 

 

Shoot fire bubba, this is right fine ghanouj! This combo will turn any Mid Eastern shepherd into a pig farmer- guaranteed!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

